Kwara United has earned the CAF spot despite not winning the Aeito Cup.

Nigeria Football Federation has submitted Kwara United as the country’s fourth candidate for CAF interclub tournament for this season. Ordinarily, the winner of the Aeito Cup in the Nigerian league is entitled to the fourth spot for the continental tournament. But the Aeito tournament is ongoing and is yet to be concluded.


Kwara United in their official statement on their Facebook page confirmed the development.


Kwara United finished fourth on the NPFL log last season after earning 58 points from 38 games. They strived for the CAF Confederation spot but fell off with over six points to newly promoted Remo Stars.


In the list realized by CAF, NPFL champions Rivers United and runner-up Plateau United are seen in the category of CAF Champions League, while Kwara United joins Remo Stars for the CAF spots. 


Kwara United on their Facebook page expresses their happiness in returning to the continental tournament after 12 years of absence.


“This latest development has thrown all Kwarans into massive jubilation, considering the fact that Kwara United last played Continental games in 2011 under Coach Kadiri Ikhana.”

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Create New Account!

Fill the forms below to register

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.